The Phoenix DUI Law Blog

5 Reasons Why You Could be Charged with Aggravated DUI

As Arizona has the toughest DUI laws in the country, even a misdemeanor DUI conviction can carry serious consequences. A charge of aggravated DUI, however, is a felony crime and carries even harsher penalties, like multiple years of imprisonment.

While most people are aware that aggravated DUI charges exist, many are unsure of the exact circumstances in which the charges apply. Aggravated DUI charges arise where certain aggravating factors exist that elevate a DUI offense to the level of a felony. Below, we’ve included five circumstances in which a driver could be charged with an aggravated DUI in Arizona.

  • Committing a DUI offense while driving on a suspended, canceled, revoked, or refused license
  • Committing a third or subsequent DUI offense within a 7-year period
  • Committing a DUI offense while a child under the age of 15 years old is in the car
  • Committing a DUI offense while a court order exists requiring you to have an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle
  • Refusing to submit to a blood alcohol concentration test as requested by an officer while a court order exists requiring you to have an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle

While penalties differ depending on the specific offense, aggravated DUI charges generally carry much tougher penalties than misdemeanor DUI offenses. Aggravated DUI convictions are punishable by 4 months to several years in prison, revocation of driving privileges for a minimum of 3 years, up to 5 years of probation, and the installation of an ignition interlock device. If you’d like to learn more about aggravated DUI charges or DUI law in general, you may want to contact a DUI attorney.

Related Resources: