The Phoenix DUI Law Blog

Understanding Arizona's "Super Extreme" DUI Law

Douglas Noble, of Golden Valley, was arrested Wednesday night for a "super extreme DUI." Noble had a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .232 percent, nearly three times the legal limit, Fox News reports.

Arizona is one of a few states that have enacted laws to create this highest level of DUI charge. Although "super extreme" sounds more like an energy drink descriptor than a serious offense, it's important to understand the distinctions between the different categories of DUIs because their respective penalties can differ greatly.

In May 2007, former Governor Janet Napolitano signed tiered-DUI legislation into law. That new DUI law created three categories of infractions: DUI, extreme DUI, and super extreme DUI. Arizona currently has the toughest DUI laws in the country.

Here's a breakdown of the different categories and the accompanying penalties:

  • DUI: A DUI requires a BAC of .08 to .1499. The penalties can include up to $1,800 in fines and a minimum of 10 days of jail time. Much of the jail time can be waived, however, if one agrees to participate in a substance abuse assessment.
  • Extreme DUI: An extreme DUI requires a BAC of .150 to .199 percent. The penalties include a minimum of 30 days in jail, a $250 fine, a $250 DUI assessment, a $1,000 assessment to the state prison fund, and a $1,000 assessment to the state public safety fund.
  • Super Extreme DUI: A super extreme DUI requires a BAC of .20 or greater. Penalties include a minimum sentence of 45 days in jail and $2,750 in fines.

In all cases, the court will likely suspend your license for 90 days and require that an ignition interlock system be installed on your vehicle for at least a year. If Douglas Noble is found guilty of a super extreme DUI, he will be facing over a month in jail and steep fines.

Related Resources: