Arizona law requires even first-time DUI offenders to get an ignition interlock device installed in their cars for a year. But there are a few tips to get you back behind the wheel -- without the device -- in just six months.
In a previous post, we explained five things to know about ignition interlock. But if you are facing a DUI arrest or conviction in Arizona, you should also know that you can potentially cut down your time with an ignition interlock device.
Here's how to do it:
1. Get a Special License.
For a DUI conviction in Arizona, you will have your license suspended for 90 days and will be required to have an ignition interlock device installed before the end of your suspension.
But a driver may apply to reinstate her license and get back to driving after 30 days of suspension with a special restricted license if:
- An interlock device is installed and verified,
- The driver has completed drug and alcohol programs, and
- All fees to date have been paid.
2. Be Diligent About Paying Device Fees.
When you are mandated to install an ignition interlock device, you are responsible to pay for its installation, along with monitoring fees.
The device must also be recalibrated and checked for tampering every 30 days for the first three months of installation by a licensed installer.
If you fail to pay for the checking or installation of your interlock device, you will be ineligible for getting six months cut off your court-ordered interlock period.
3. Apply for a 6-Month Deferment.
Thanks to new laws passed in the last two years, convicted drivers in Arizona who diligently follow the terms of their sentences may be able to knock the last six months off the year required for the ignition interlock device.
To qualify for this shortened interlock period, drivers must:
- Have a simple DUI. No convictions for BAC 0.15% or over, and no injuries or property damage resulting from the DUI.
- Complete a drug program. The program lasts at least 16 hours.
- Currently maintain an ignition interlock device. A driver must be compliant for six months, with all fees and calibrating ignition interlock device.
- Not register multiple 0.08% BAC attempts on the interlock device. The device cannot have more than one attempt to start or continue driving the vehicle with a recorded BAC of 0.08% or more.
Keep in mind, however, that this six-month reduction for ignition interlock devices can be revoked if you are arrested or convicted for another DUI. For more questions about how this works in your particular case, an experienced Phoenix DUI lawyer can help.